TYLER COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT REGULAR MEETING

November 20, 2018 ---- 8:30 a.m.

THE STATE OF TEXAS ON THIS THE 20th day of November, 2018 the Commissioners' Court in and for Tyler County, Texas convened in a Regular Meeting at the Commissioners' Courtroom in Woodville, Texas, the following members of the Court present, to wit:

JACQUES L. BLANCHETTE

MARTIN NASH

RUSTY HUGHES

MIKE MARSHALL

JACK WALSTON

DONECE GREGORY

COUNTY JUDGE, presiding

COMMISSIONER, PCT. #1

COMMISSIONER, PCT. #3

COMMISSIONER, PCT. #4

COUNTY CLERK, Ex-Officio

The following were absent: none thereby constituting a quorum. In addition to the above were:

JACKIE SKINNER COUNTY AUDITOR SUE SAUNDERS COUNTY TREASURER

KEN JOBE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT
STEVAN STURROCK COMMISSIONER-ELECT, PCT. #2
BUCK HUDSON COMMISSIONER-ELECT, PCT. #4

SONDRA WILLIAMS TYLER CO. HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATOR

After calling the meeting to order, Judge Blanchette invited anyone offended by the practice to exercise an invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance to step out in the hall and return after the exercise of this practice. The invocation was delivered by Ken Jobe. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Texas Flag was led by Commissioner Hughes.

A motion was made by Commissioner Marshall and seconded by Commissioner Hughes to receive the minutes of October 29, 2018, making note of a correction to Commissioner Nash seconding a motion. All voted yes.

Commissioner Hughes motioned to approve the County Treasurer's October report. Commissioner Nash seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED REPORT

Budget amendments/line item transfers, were not presented by the County Auditor.

A motion was made by **Commissioner Hughes** and seconded by **Commissioner Walston** to approve paying the **county bills/accounts payable**. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

Commissioner Nash motioned to approve the **county payroll. Commissioner Walston** seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

A motion was made by **Judge Blanchette** and seconded by **Commissioner Marshall** to renew the **Discovery Information Technologies Fortigate Support Agreement** for the **County Judge** and the **County Treasurer** offices for the period of October 2018 to October 2019. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

Judge Blanchette motioned to renew the **Texas Association of Counties (TAC) CIRA Service Agreement** for **basic email service** and **standard website package** for 2019. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Walston.** All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

A motion was made by **Commissioner Marshall** to not restrict certain **fireworks** for the December fireworks period from December 20th through January 1, 2019. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Nash.** All voted yes and none no.

Commissioner Walston motioned to award the bid from Local Sanitation for the sale of the **Tyler County Collection Center** and to move forward with the sale as soon as possible. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Nash.** Judge Blanchette asked how the trash from the courthouse would now be handled. Mrs. Skinner reported that the bid included a clause for negotiation with the courthouse for disposal of trash. SEE ATTACHED BID

A motion was made by **Commissioner Nash** and seconded by **Commissioner Hughes** to purchase a Kubota M6S-111SDS tractor from Beaumont Tractor through NJPA. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

A motion was made by **Commissioner Nash** to purchase a JD310SL backhoe from Dogget in Lufkin through the BuyBoard. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Marshall.** All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED

Judge Blanchette motioned to accept the resignation of Robyn Summerlin from the **Texas Groundwater Conservation District Board** for the term ending December 31, 2918. **Commissioner Nash** seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Commissioner Marshall** and seconded by **Commissioner Hughes** to table appointing a replacement to serve on the **Texas Groundwater Conservation Rural Water Small Municipal Committee** for the term January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2021. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Judge Blanchette** and seconded by **Commissioner Walston** to approve the Agreement with Allison, Bass and Magee LLP for flat rate/fixed rate professional services assisting Tyler County in review of **precinct districting.** All voted yes and none no.

Judge Blanchette motioned to approve the incoming Justice of Peace, Precinct #2 to attend the **Justice of Peace conference** in December 2018. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Marshall.** All voted yes and none no.

Leslie Waxman was positive the county could be awarded funds during the grant cycle for CDBG funds. The applications are due February 7, 2019. Tyler County Water Supply has shown

interest in applying for the funds. **Commissioner Nash** motioned to start procurement for the **FY-2019/2020 CDBG Fund** with the **Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA)** for engineering and administration. Ms. Waxman recommended the next action would be to choose an administrator first then pick a project. The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Marshall.** All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Judge Blanchette** to appoint a committee to rate the Statement of Qualifications (SOQ) and Request for Proposals (RFP) for the **FY-2019/2020 CDBG Fund** with TDA. Committee members will be Jackie Skinner, Commissioner Marshall and Judge Blanchette. **Commissioner Marshall** seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Commissioner Nash** and seconded by **Commissioner Marshall** to approve the **bond** of the **Tax Assessor/Collector**, Lynette Cruse. All votes yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED BOND

A motion was made by **Commissioner Marshall** and seconded by **Commissioner Hughes** to approve the **bond** for the **County Judge.** All votes yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED BOND

Commissioner Marshall motioned to appoint the following as commissioners to the Emergency Service District boards:

- ESD 1- B.A. Smith, Joe McIntyre and Lana Cox
- ESD 2- Henry Sawyer, Sr and Karl Hammond
- ESD 3- Royce Hill and Betty Zimmerman
- ESD 4- Rodney Krebs and Matt Mentzel
- ESD 5- Herbert D. Odom and Johnny Lee Page
- ESD 6- Raymond Holland and Roger Harvill
- ESD 7- Roy Chad Eddins, John Ard and Jim Fitzgerald
- ESD 8- Art Walton

The motion was seconded by **Commissioner Walston**. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Commissioner Marshall** and seconded by **Commissioner Walston** to begin the canvass of the General Election. All voted yes and none no. After members of the court canvassed the results, **Commissioner Nash** motioned to accept the results of the General Election, held on November 6, 2018 as reviewed. **Commissioner Walston** seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED RESULTS

Executive Session was not held.

A motion was made by Commissioner Nash and seconded by Commissioner Hughes shall the meeting adjourn. All voted yes.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS, THE MEETING ADJOURNED: 9:38 a.m.

I, Donece Gregory, County Clerk and ex officio member of the Tyler County Commissioners Court, do hereby certify to the fact that the above is a true and correct record of the Tyler County Commissioners Court session held on November 20, 2018.

Witness my hand and seal of office on this the 29th day of November, 2018.
Attest: Donece Gregory, County Clerk